Home

18th-20th May 2014

Last night (17th May)  I finished printing my print design onto the bodice of my jumpsuit and started sewing it together today (18th May) . I did not have much problems sewing my bodice pieces together as I had already encountered these when I made my toiling the jumpsuit. To stop myself from making the same mistakes twice, I made quick rough notes and stuck them on the wall over my sewing machine so that I could follow the notes I made whiles sewing the final jumpsuit. I was very careful not to handle the fabric as it does not take much for the fabric to stretch because if one side of the fabric stretched then my notches would not have lined up and in order to sew my jumpsuit correctly, all of my notches needed to match.

I set myself a target of two days to complete the entire jumpsuit once the print was on and I was determined to do so. I prepared the trousers and lining shorts for them Jumpsuit 5 days ago so that everything to ready to be connected to the bodice half after the print was done and dry. When I was toiling my jumpsuit I did not add lining to it although I knew it was my intention to line my final four garments because I was in a rush to catch up. I quickly made up a lining pattern for the bodice half of my jumpsuit using the advice I was given by my teacher Janet to use interfacing and lining.

Attaching the completed play-suit lining to the jumpsuit was the hardest part of the entire process! I feel I struggled as much as I did due to not having much experience of lining garments but I am confident that the more garments I make with lining, the better I will become. At this time I am looking at it as experience for when I enter a real working environment

I sewed all day and night, especially after finding out that we would need one garment to be completed by the 19th May for a photo shoot. Unfortunately I was not able to get my jumpsuit in on the 19th due to suffering from exhaustion from working all day and all through the night. The only thing left to do was insert the zip and hand stitch the hem. This really upset me because after all the effort I put in, it was not ready for the shoot even if I tried on the 19th because I came so weak I could not move and found myself in a tearful state.

The following day (20th May) my jumpsuit was completed and taken into uni for the photo shoot. Looking at my completed jumpsuit, I am extremely proud and happy with it! I feel it is a great representation of my butterfly theme and influences and I can definitely see the reference to Elie Saab who is one of the main designers that influenced my design developments and final jumpsuit. I am also very proud of my print design! My jumpsuit still would have been lovely if it didn’t have the print, but the addition of my print, I feel really complements the Jumpsuit and adds more depth.

If I were to make this jumpsuit again, I would not change anything about the design. I would maybe experience more with the scale of my print design and I probably would look into getting the print done professionally. I would also source different materials that the jumpsuit could be made with.

photo 1(20) photo 1(21)  photo 2(18)photo 3(16)photo 2(19)photo 4(12)photo 3(15) photo 4(15)photo 5(5)photo 1(19)     photo 2(15)

 

 

Leave a comment